slide image

 

 

  Department of Education

You are here


Teacher preparation is an historically rooted pursuit at DSU, wherein a high emphasis is placed on producing excellent educators. This serves as unmistakable indication of the University's institutional understanding of the great need for teachers in our society. Education students are prepared to navigate the challenges presented by federal and State requirements and leave DSU to become highly qualified and competent teachers.

Current Education majors receive hands-on in school experiences in early field placements with partner schools, including at the Delaware State University Caesar Rodney Transition Partnership Project on campus, and the Early Childhood Lab School, which serves infants and toddlers through kindergarten.

In addition, new educational leadership master’s and doctoral degree programs have been established to produce the next generation of creative and highly skilled school administrators. The Masters and Doctorate of Education programs with a concentration in educational leadership are designed for the development and certification of educational leaders in private and public K–12 systems, higher education programs, and state, national and international educational organizations.

Candidate Performance Data

Candidate Pass Rate Data
Program Licensure Data
Teacher Work Sample
Employer Survey Data
Graduate Follow-up Survey Data

 

Department of Education
EH Building, Room 100
1200 North DuPont Highway
Dover, DE 19901

302.857.6720 Phone
302.857.6722 Fax

Monday - Friday 8:30 am- 4:30 pm

Faculty/Staff Profile


Department Chair


Dr. Robert Martin, Ed.D.
Acting Chairperson/Coordinator of Physical Education
Associate Professor
EH 100
302.857.6720
bmartin@desu.edu


Dr. Nirmaljit K. Rathee
Acting Director, Graduate Program
Associate Professor
EH 112/MH 208
302.857.7170
nrathee@desu.edu

Associate Professors


Dr. Chandra Aleong
EH 239
302.857.7690
caleong@desu.edu


Dr. Prince Attoh
Coordinator of Educational Leadership
EH 6718
302.857-7618
pattoh@desu.edu


Dr. Cecil Clark
Director of Early Field & Clinical Experiences
EH 110
302.857-6740
cclark@desu.edu


Dr. Joseph Falodun
EH 254
302.857.6578
jfalodun@desu.edu


Dr. Janet Hill
Coordinator of Early Childhood Education
EH 242
302.857.7393
jhill@desu.edu


Dr. Keun Kyu Kim
EH 233
302.857.6744
keunkim@desu.edu


Dr. Elaine Marker
Coordinator of Elementary Education
EH 245
302.857.7176
emarker@desu.edu


Dr. Faith Newton
Coordinator of Middle Level Education
EH  235
302.857.6826
fnewton@desu.edu


Dr. Richard Phillips
Coordinator of Curriculum & Instruction
EH 235
302.857.7569
rphillips@desu.edu


Assistant Professors

Dr. Susanta Parida
Visiting Assistant Professor
EH 242
302.857.6739
sparida@desu.edu


Dr. Yvette Pierre
Early Field Experiences Coordinator
EH 110C
302.857.7570
ypierre@desu.edu


Dr. Sae Yeol Yoon
EH 244
302.857.6726
syoon@desu.edu

Instructors

Ms. Sabrina Bailey
EH 100
302.857.6732
sdbailey@desu.edu


Professional Staff


Ms. Brenda Hopkins
Program Coordinator
Robert Noyce Teacher Scholarship Program
EH 248
302.857.6959
bhopkins@desu.edu


Ms. Kendra Modzelewski-Graham
Coordinator, Praxis Instruction
EH 234
302.857.5735
kmodzelewski@desu.edu


Ms. Constance Pogue (Williams)
Director of Early Child Lab School
EH 116
302.857.6731
clwilliams@desu.edu


Staff


Ms. Brandi Bessecker
Senior Secretary, Chair's Office
EH 100
302.857.6720
bbesecker@desu.edu


Ms. Stacey Gede
Senior Secretary, Office of Clinical & Field Experiences
EH 110
302.857.6727
sgede@desu.edu


Ms. Danielle Hicks
Senior Secretary, Graduate Program Office
EH 112
302.857.7170
dshicks@desu.edu