News and Media — Latest Headlines

You are here

Former Gov. Michael N. Castle, now a DSU board member, gives Dr. Claibourne D. Smith a farewell handshake at the end of the former chairman's last meeting. As Delaware's chief executive in 1988, Gov. Castle appointed Dr. Smith to the board, whose service to the University totaled 28 years -- including more than 20 years as board chairman and 16 months as acting president of the institution..

"The Culinary Herbal" is the latest book from Dr. Arthur Tucker, research professor emeritus from the College of Agriculture and Related Sciences.

The Sankofa Dancers and Drummers gave their their annual performance at the MLK Jr. National Holiday Program by kicking off the event with their youthful moves.

(Seated l-r) JNU President Hyangjin Huh and DSU President Harry L. Williams; (standing) JNU's Dongsun Lee, Sungjin Park, Young Soon Kang, Younghoon Kang; DSU's  Dr. Bradley Skelcher, Donna Covington, Dr. Youngski Kwak and Dr. Fengshan Liu

These are some of the graduating seniors who attended the combined First Lady's Tea/Gentlemen's Brunch at the President's Residence on Dec. 17.

Dr. Jalaal Hayes (center) made DSU history by becoming the youngest-ever doctoral graduate at age 22. Dr. Hayes of Philadelphia was conferred a Ph.D. in Applied Chemistry during the Dec. 20 Commencement. Standing with Dr. Hayes are his advisor Dr. Andrew Goudy, professor of chemistry, and Dr. Cherese Winstead, chair of the DSU Department of Chemistry.

Four doctoral graduates get together prior to the Dec. 20 Commencement: (l-r) Dr. Alissa Mezzacappa (Optics),Dr. Esosa Iriowen (Applied Chemistry), Dr. Jalaal A. Hayes (Applied Chemistry) and Dr. Eric Pugh (Educational Leadership). Dr. Hayes at age 22 is the youngest-ever doctoral graduate in DSU history.

Katie Ommanney, a DSU junior natural resources major, is shown at the Knysna Elephant Park in South Africa where she did research on elephant stress levels last summer.

(L-r) Provost Alton Thompson; Dr. Stacy Downing, VP of Student Affairs; Rep. Dave Wilson, Rep. Bobby Outten, Rep. Harvey Kenton, Rep. Jeff Spiegelman, Sen. Colin Bonini, DSU President Harry L. Williams, Sen. Gary Simpson, Rep. Trey Paradee, Rep. Lyndon Yearick; Victor Santos, DSU gov. relations director; Sen. Brian Bushweller; Vita Pickrum, VP of Institutional Advancement; David Sheppard, DSU General Counsel. (Sen. Dave Lawson is not pictured). 

Eric Hart (l) and his wife Erin Hill (r) join DSU President Harry L. Williams for a photo opp during the annual President's Holiday Open House for faculty and staff on Dec. 15-16.


Media Requests

For media requests pertaining to a need for expert input or information about DSU, please contact The Office of Public Relations located on the second floor of the Administration and Student Services Building. 

Carlos Holmes

Tracy Channel

For information pertaining to sports or an interview with any athlete or coach, please contact the Sports Media Relations Director: 

Dennis Jones