Second Morrill Act
125th Anniversary

Steering Committee

Dr. Dyremple Marsh, Chair*
Dean, CARS

Ms. Troy Darden, Co-Chair*

Dr. Marikis Alvarez*

Dr. Rebecca Batson*
William C. Jason Library

Dr. Stacy Downing
Student Affairs

Dr. Albert Essel*

Mr. Carlos Holmes
Public Relations

Mr. Brandon Maddox
Integrated Marketing

Ms. Jacquelyn Malcolm
Integrated Marketing

Ms. Chandra Owens
USDA Liaison Officer

Mr. Victor Santos
Government Relations

Dr. Clytrice Watson

*Denotes national committee member

We celebrate the accomplishments of Delaware State University and the 1890 Land-Grant System! Our rich legacy of teaching, research and extension guides us today and into the future.

Bookmark this page to remain abreast of our planned, commemorative activities!

slide image

  125 Years! DSU Celebrates the Second Morrill Act

Celebrating 125 years
Providing Access and Enhancing Opportunities

Sen. Justin Morrill

In 1890, U.S. Senator Justin Morrill crafted the Second Morrill Act to further his vision of higher education for all. This second land-grant Act became law on August 30, 1890; it improved upon the first Morrill Act of 1862 by creating institutions, like Delaware State University, for minority residents of primarily southern states who were denied admission to the publicly-funded and supported 1862 land-grant universities. 

Today, DSU--and the other 18 campuses that comprise the 1890 land-grant system--continue to provide students with access to education that enhances their opportunities for future success. 

Throughout 2015, the 1890 land-grant universities will commemorate 125 years of existence. Events are planned on each campus and in Washington, D.C..

Second Morrill Act 125th Anniversary 
(1890 – 2015)
Delaware State University Events Schedule

“Celebrating 125 Years of Access and Opportunity”
5th Annual Graduate Student Research Symposium

April 17, 8 AM – 4:30 PM
Bank of America Bldg, DSU Campus

Land Grant College Knowledge QR Code Scavenger Hunt
April 20 – 24, 2015
DSU Student teams of 4 use smart phones to scan and correctly answer
QR code questions for valuable prizes! 
Each area listed below will declare one winning team on Friday, April 24.
Register by contacting your representative listed below:
CAHSS –  Ms. Rhonda Thompson
CARS – Mr. Alex Meredith
CEHPP –  Ms. Michele Rush
CMNST – Ms. Faith Woodard
COB –  Mr. Johnie Burton


Proclamation Day
Come celebrate with us as
Gov. Jack Markell
Proclaims April 20 – 24, 2015
“Delaware 1890 Land-Grant University Week

April 21, 11:15 AM – Noon (time change)
MLK Student Center, DSU Campus
City of Dover proclamation to be presented as well

1890 Land-Grant Past, Present and Future:
A Time to Reflect with Joe Madison

National Host, The Joe Madison Show, SiriusXM Satellite Radio
Civil Rights Activist
April 22, 
7 p.m. – 8 p.m.
MLK Student Center, DSU Campus

1890 Day Wellness Walk 
(held at each of 19 land-grant campuses)
April 23, 11 a.m. – 1 p.m.
DSU campus route

Support DSU student scholarships!

Take 1,890 steps with DSU’s Approaching Storm Marching Band!!
Start and finish at 1890 Day Carnival tent!

$18.90 registration fee!  Students walk for $1.89!!


followed by:
1890 Day Carnival!
Ball courts between Wellness Center and MLK Student Center
Cool down with cool sounds, snacks, fun and games!

National 1890 Land-Grant Celebration
Week of July 13

Washington, DC
Events include:
1890s on the Hill, 1890 land-grant university exhibits, Madison Building (July 15)
Convocation, Library of Congress (July 16)

“Celebrating 125 Years of Providing Access, Enhancing Opportunities”
The Need to Go Back to the Future

Dr. Carolyn Brooks, Executive Director
Association of Research Directors
(1890 Land Grant Universities)
September 3, 11 a.m.
EH Theater, DSU Campus

“Make Your Mark On The World”
The Hon. Suzan Johnson Cook
Former U.S. Ambassador-at-Large
for International Religious Freedom
September 24, 11 a.m. - 12:30 p.m.
MLK Student Center, Parlor C
  For more information:

The 1890 Land-Grant Universities

Alabama A&M University (1875)
Alcorn State University (1871)
Delaware State University (1891)
Florida A&M University (1887)
Fort Valley State University (1895)
Kentucky State University (1886)
Langston University (1897)
Lincoln University (1866)
North Carolina A&T State University (1891)
Prairie View A&M University (1876)
South Carolina State University (1896)
Southern University System (1880)
Tennessee State University (1912)
Tuskegee University (1881)
University of Arkansas Pine Bluff (1875)
University of Maryland Eastern Shore (1886)
Virginia State University (1882)
West Virginia State University (1891)
Central State University* (1887)
*gained land grant status through the 2014 Farm Bill

Take a virtual tour of exhibits at our own William C. Jason Library!

William C. Jason Library
Digital Exhibits

Historically Black Land-Grant Institutions: The First 125 Years

Learn more about
1890 land-grant universities

1890 Land-Grant Universities (video)

1890 Land-Grant Universities (brochure)

Land-Grant University FAQ
(Association of Public And Land-Grant Universities)