College of Education, Health & Public Policy

You are here

The Academic programs are Education, Nursing, Social WorkHealth Promotion, and Movement Science. The Community based program is the Capitol Park Community Center.

Building on the mission of the University, the mission of the College of Education, Health and Public Policy is to promote excellence in education, research and health related services for our students, citizens of Delaware, the nation and the world. These pursuits will focus on increasing knowledge, shaping policy and providing solutions for health related issues. The educational programs are guided by the standards and ethics of the various professional organizations and accrediting agencies. The College is dedicated to preparing students in health professions for graduate study who will be informed professionals empowered to lead and manage change while shaping society's future.













Health Promotion majors are becoming builders!  In collaboration with Acme Stores, students built an American flag out of cans and non-perishable foods that was displayed at Dover Downs over the September 2014 race weekend. The structure was built over a 1.5 day period and all goods were donated to the Food Bank of Delaware. The participants were:  Kandace Hunt, Rie Green, Jade Bowers, Ja’lisa Davis, Dymond Sellers, Theo Flahn, Sandra Odom, Jennifer Wilson, Malika Perry, Jarai Lee, Mariama Jalloh, Shakia Thomas, Jihad Abdhur-Rahman, Shawnie Hopkins, Wendy Bautista, Danielle Carter, Courtney Johnson, Kiyana Baker, Janel Robinson, Brent Stewart, Carla Byrnes, Michelle Freeman, and Amy Goote-Ash, Faculty Coordinator.

Then again on November 5, students participated in a Habitat for Humanity build in Frederica.  The participants were:  Theo Flahn, Sandra Odom, Lisandra Clark, Jasmine Johnson, Brent Stewart, Carla Byrnes, Mariama Jalloh, Michelle Freeman, Wendy Bautista, Courtney Johnson, Shawny Hopkins, Danielle Carter, Jennifer Wilson, Jihad Abdhur-Rahman, Kiara Carter, Kat Arlotta, Paige Cornelious, Serena Altes, Jalisa Davis, Jade Bowers, Janel Robinson, and Amy Goote-Ash, Faculty Coordinator.  Click here for pictures.

Two MSW graduate students, and their faculty collaborator Dr. Tina Jordan, MSW Program Director, presented papers at the Race, Ethnicity and Place Conference October 21-25 in Ft. Worth, Texas. Samuel Adeyinka presented, “Caucasian Graduate Students:  Understanding the Afrocentric Paradigm in a Historical Black College or University” and Christopher Sears presented, “A Phenomenological Exploration of Caucasian Student Matriculation Experiences at a Historically Black University.”

The College of Education, Health and Public Policy was well represented at the Heart Walk on October 25.  The Health and Fitness Leaders’ team comprised of  Megan Maloney, Tamara Wills, Tiara Johnson, Ashley Robinson, Rodesha Davis, Kiondrah Wilson, Lassandra Morgan, Jazlyn Kelley, Amoni Knight, and Marianne Carter raised $165.00.  In addition, Marianne Carter raised $1,310.00, bringing DSU’s total to $2,017.00.

The BSW Social Work Club and DSU Forces [aka “Armed Forces Club”] delivered Thanksgiving baskets to the Capitol Park Community Center on Thursday, November 20th.  Melinda Leager, a BSW student, serves as President of both groups and facilitated the collaboration between the two organizations.    Dr. Fran Franklin, BSW Program Coordinator, also assisted with planning this activity.

One of our own travels to the Kennedy Space Center to see the launch of the Orion Capsule.


College of Education, Health and Public Policy
Price Building, Room 115
1200 N. DuPont Highway
Dover, DE 19901-2277
302.857.6704 Fax

Mon. - Fri. 8:30 am to 4:30 pm

Meet The Dean & Staff

Price 115

Lynn McGinnis, MBA
Administrative Assistant/Finance & Budget Assistant
Price 115