March 2013

DSU to Present the Musical "Ain't Misbehavin' April 4-5


(l-r) Ain’t Misbehavin’ music director Dr. David Tolley rehearses with Andrew Hazzard and Brandi Hydleburg.

Ain’t Misbehaving cast – (l-r) Paul Maniweather, LeAndrea Johnson, Tyrone Johnson Jr., Brandi Hydleburg, Deryl Wynn, Jazmin Salberrios and Andrew Hazzard.   Delaware State University’s Theatre Program will presents “Ain’t Misbehaving,” the 1978 Tony Award winner for Best Musical, at 7:30 p.m. nightly Thursday and Friday, April 4-5 in the Education and Humanities Theatre on campus.   The production is free and open to the public.   The musical showcases DSU students Brandi Hydleburg, Andrew Hazzard, Tyrone Ashley Jr., Paul Meniweather, Deryl Wynn, Jazmin Salberrios and LeAndrea Johnson   The production is a salute to the Harlem Renaissance stride piano musician Thomas “Fats” Waller and features a number of his songs such as Ain’t Misbehavin’, Honeysuckle Rose, T’ain’t Nobody’s Business, Black and Blues, and many more.   The production’s director is Dr. Shirlyn Henry Brown and the music director is Dr. David Tolley.