slide image



  Department of Education

You are here

Teacher preparation is an historically rooted pursuit at DSU, wherein a high emphasis is placed on producing excellent educators. This serves as unmistakable indication of the University's institutional understanding of the great need for teachers in our society. Education students are prepared to navigate the challenges presented by federal and State requirements and leave DSU to become highly qualified and competent teachers.

Current Education majors receive hands-on in school experiences in early field placements with partner schools, including at the Delaware State University Caesar Rodney Transition Partnership Project on campus, and the Early Childhood Lab School, which serves infants and toddlers through kindergarten.

In addition, new educational leadership master’s and doctoral degree programs have been established to produce the next generation of creative and highly skilled school administrators. The Masters and Doctorate of Education programs with a concentration in educational leadership are designed for the development and certification of educational leaders in private and public K–12 systems, higher education programs, and state, national and international educational organizations.

Candidate Performance Data

Candidate Pass Rate Data
Program Licensure Data
Teacher Work Sample
Employer Survey Data
Graduate Follow-up Survey Data


Department of Education
EH Building, Room 100
1200 North DuPont Highway
Dover, DE 19901

(302) 857-6720
(302) 857-6722 Fax

Monday - Friday 8:30am- 4:30pm

Faculty/Staff Profile

Department Chair

Dr. Robert Martin, Ed.D.

Acting Chairperson/Coordinator of Physical Education
Associate Professor
EH 100

Dr. Nirmaljit K. Rathee

Acting Director, Graduate Program
Associate Professor
EH 112/MH 208

Associate Professors

Dr. Chandra Aleong

EH 239

Dr. Prince Attoh

Coordinator of Educational Leadership
EH 6718

Dr. Cecil Clark

Director of Early Field & Clinical Experiences
EH 110

Dr. Joseph Falodun

EH 254

Dr. Janet Hill
Coordinator of Early Childhood Education
EH 242

Dr. Keun Kyu Kim

EH 233

Dr. Elaine Marker
Coordinator of Elementary Education
EH 245

Dr. Faith Newton

Coordinator of Middle Level Education
EH  235

Dr. Richard Phillips

Coordinator of Curriculum & Instruction
EH 235

Assistant Professors

Dr. Susanta Parida
Visiting Assistant Professor

Dr. Yvette Pierre
Early Field Experiences Coordinator
EH 110C

Dr. Sae Yeol Yoon

Visiting Assistant Profesor
EH 244

Professional Staff

Ms. Brenda Hopkins

Program Coordinator
Robert Noyce Teacher Scholarship Program
EH 248

Ms. Kendra Modzelewski

Coordinator, Praxis Instruction
EH 234

Ms. Constance Williams

Director of Early Child Lab School
EH 116


Ms. Brandi Besecker
Senior Secretary, Chair's Office
EH 100

Ms. Stacey Gede
Senior Secretary, Office of Clinical & Field Experiences
EH 110

Ms. Danielle Hicks
Senior Secretary, Graduate Program Office
EH 112