slide image

John R. Price Building
Phone: 302.857.6750
Fax: 302.857.6781

  Department of Nursing

You are here


Welcome to Delaware State University Department of Nursing. The Department of Nursing faculty and staff are committed to provide educational opportunities for students of diverse backgrounds and preparing high quality graduate nurses who are ready to practice in today’s challenging health-care environment.  

The competitive program is grounded in academic excellence and prepares students to become professional nurses. Following the successful completion of the program, graduates will receive a Bachelor of Science degree, with a major in Nursing, and will be eligible to take the registered nurse licensure examination (NCLEX-RN)  administered by the National Council of State Boards of Nursing.

The nursing curriculum consists of four (4) academic years. The student will take two years of pre-professional courses and apply for the professional phase of the nursing major during their sophomore year.  Professional phase nursing courses include both nursing theory and related laboratory and clinical study.  A variety of healthcare agencies including hospitals, long term care facilities, clinics, and community health settings, provide opportunities for clinical study in the tri state area.   Clinical laboratory practice is also provided in a state of the art simulation laboratory.

The Nursing Program has full approval status from the Delaware Board of Nursing

The Nursing Program is accredited by the Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing  and is on warning until reaccreditation visit scheduled for Spring 2017.

ACEN
3343 Peachtree Road NE, Suite 850
Atlanta, GA 30326
Phone: 404-975-5000

 

 

Department of Nursing
Price Bldg. Room 121
1200 N. DuPont Highway
Dover, DE 19901-2277


302.857.6750
302.857.6781 Fax
Mon. - Fri. 8:30 to 4:30


Faculty/Staff Profile


Department Chair


Dr. Agnes Richardson
Acting Chairperson/Associate Professor
Price 121B
302.857.6750
arichardson@desu.edu


Associate Professors

Dr. Jennifer Akey
Price 117B
302.857.6760
jakey@desu.edu
 

Danz
Dr. Sally Danz
Associate Professor
Price 119C
302.857.6791
sdanz@desu.edu



Dr. Carol Sando
Price 118
302.857.6798
csando@desu.edu


Dr. Yvonne Stringfield

Price 120A
302.857.6753
ystringfield@desu.edu


Clinical Practitioners



Ms. Vivian Hendricks
Price 119B
302.857.6795
vhendricks@desu.edu



Mrs. Sara Myers
Price 120B
302.857.6757
smyers@desu.edu
 

Professional Staff

Sonya Barksdale
Computer Lab Monitor
Price 121D
302.857.6777
sbarksdale@desu.edu

Deborah Lord
Skills Lab Coordinator
Price 111E
302.857.6845
dlord@desu.edu

Yewedi Walker
Clinical Coordinator
Price 121C
302.857.6764
ywalker@desu.edu

Staff

Monique Hankerson
Senior Secretary
Price 121
mhankerson@desu.edu
302.857.6750
 

Student Information

Criteria for the Professional Nursing Phase

Application for Admission to the Professional Phase -- Check back shortly

Please return completed applications to:
Mrs. Michelle Rush
Price Bldg., Room 111