Department of Social Work

You are here


The mission of the Department of Social Work is to prepare culturally competent professionals guided by values, ethics, and evidence-based practice for professional and leadership roles; thus enhancing the quality of life of individuals, families, groups, communities, and organizations in a global society.

The Department’s goals are to:
1.       prepare social work practitioners to develop an understanding of the importance of a Black perspective based on strengths-based empowerment approach for social work practice;
2.       prepare culturally competent professionals guided by values and ethics who are capable of promoting social and economic justice when working with diverse and at risk populations in a global society;
3.       prepare practitioners for evidence-based professional practice and leadership roles; and
4.       educate students to think critically and to evaluate their own practice.

Assessment of Student Learning Outcomes
 

Advanced Standing Credits

Applicants who have graduated from a Bachelor of Social Work Degree Program accredited by the Council on Social Work Education may receive up to a maximum of twenty-eight (28) credits applied towards the MSW degree at the time of admission, if they meet the requirements for regular status. This option may be an acceptable alternative for applicants who do not meet the requirements for Advanced Standing. If admitted under regular status, these individuals may receive advanced standing credits for all undergraduate foundations courses with grades of "B" or better earned within the last five (5) years. This option is granted on an individual basis. Advanced standing credit will not be considered for practice courses or field practicum. Applicants seeking advanced standing credits may be required to submit course syllabi from their undergraduate courses.

 

Department of Social Work
Price Building, Room 202
1200 North DuPont Highway
Dover, DE 19901

302.857.6775
302.857.6794 Fax

Monday - Friday 8:30 am- 4:30 pm

 

Faculty/Staff Profile


Department Chair


Dr. Ezekiel Ette
Chairperson, Associate Professor
Price 201
302.857.6785
eette@desu.edu

Professor

Dr. Kul Bhushan Suri
Kirkwood Campus
302.254.5347
ksuri@desu.edu
 

Associate Professors


Dr. Dolores Finger Wright
Price 217
302.857.6784
dwright@desu.edu


Dr. Tina Jordan
MSW Program Director
Price 227
302.857.6783
tjordan@desu.edu
 
Dr. Anthony Hill
Price 221
302.857.6790
ajhill@desu.edu
 
 

Dr. Leela Thomas
Price 226
302.857.6780
lthomas@desu.edu
 

Assistant Professors

 

Dr. Michael Balliro
Price 218
302.857.6779
mballiro@desu.edu
 

Dr. Fran Franklin
BSW Program Director
Price 222
302.857.6794
ffranklin@desu.edu
 

Professional Staff

Mrs. Cherita Brown
Administrative Assistant
Price 201B
302.857.6771
cbrown@desu.edu
 
Dr. Chavon Dottin
Director of Field Instruction
Price 219
302.857.6778
cdottin@desu.edu
 

Staff


Mrs. Shacre Bennett
Secretary
Price 201A
302.857-6775
sbennett@desu.edu

 

 

Forms Library


BSW Student Handbook – under construction
Curriculum Advisement Form
MSW Student Handbook – under construction