slide image

 

 

  Department of Education

You are here


Teacher preparation is an historically rooted pursuit at DSU, wherein a high emphasis is placed on producing excellent educators. This serves as unmistakable indication of the University's institutional understanding of the great need for teachers in our society. Education students are prepared to navigate the challenges presented by federal and State requirements and leave DSU to become highly qualified and competent teachers.

Current Education majors receive hands-on in school experiences in early field placements with partner schools, including at the Delaware State University Caesar Rodney Transition Partnership Project on campus, and the Early Childhood Lab School, which serves infants and toddlers through kindergarten.

In addition, new educational leadership master’s and doctoral degree programs have been established to produce the next generation of creative and highly skilled school administrators. The Masters and Doctorate of Education programs with a concentration in educational leadership are designed for the development and certification of educational leaders in private and public K–12 systems, higher education programs, and state, national and international educational organizations.

Candidate Performance Data

Candidate Pass Rate Data
Program Licensure Data
Teacher Work Sample
Employer Survey Data
Graduate Follow-up Survey Data

 

Department of Education
EH Building, Room 100
1200 North DuPont Highway
Dover, DE 19901

302.857.6720 Phone
302.857.6722 Fax

Monday - Friday 8:30 am- 4:30 pm

Faculty/Staff Profile


Department Chair


Dr. Robert Martin, Ed.D.
Chairperson/Coordinator of Physical Education
Associate Professor
EH 100
302.857.6720
bmartin@desu.edu

Graduate Program Director
Dr. Nirmaljit K. Rathee
Director, Graduate Program
Associate Professor
EH 112
302.857.6597
nrathee@desu.edu

Professor

Dr. J. Kent Chrisman
CAEP Coordinator
EH 233
302.857.6728
jchrisman@desu.edu

Associate Professors

Aleong
Dr. Chandra Aleong
EH 239
302.857.7690
caleong@desu.edu


Dr Cecil Clark
Dr. Cecil Clark
Director of Early Field & Clinical Experiences
EH 110
302.857-6740
cclark@desu.edu

Dr Joseph Falodun
Dr. Joseph Falodun
EH 211
302.857.6736
jfalodun@desu.edu

Dr. Janet Hill
Dr. Janet Hill
Coordinator of Early Childhood Education
EH 243
302.857.6718
jhill@desu.edu

Dr Keun Kyu Kim
Dr. Keun Kyu Kim
EH 245
302.857.6744
keunkim@desu.edu


Dr Elaine Marker

Dr. Elaine Marker
Coordinator of Elementary Education
EH 255
302.857.7176
emarker@desu.edu

Dr Faith Newton
Dr. Faith Newton
Coordinator of Middle Level Education
EH  235
302.857.6826
fnewton@desu.edu

Dr Richard Philips
Dr. Richard Phillips
EH 235
302.857.6826
rphillips@desu.edu


Assistant Professors

Dr. Chetanath Gautam
EH 248
302.857.6959
cgautam@desu.edu

Dr. Donald Kern
EH 238
302.857.6735
dkern@desu.edu 

Dr Yvette Pierre
Dr. Yvette Pierre
Early Field Experiences Coordinator
EH 110
302.857.7570
ypierre@desu.edu

Dr Sae Yeol Yoon
Dr. Sae Yeol Yoon
EH 244
302.857.6726
syoon@desu.edu

Instructors

Ms. Sabrina Bailey
EH 108
302.857.6877
sdbailey@desu.edu


Professional Staff

Hardy
Mr. Ricky Hardy
Praxis Coordinator
EH 106
302.857.6964
rhardy@desu.edu



Ms. Constance Pogue (Williams)
Director of Early Child Lab School
EH 116
302.857.6731
clwilliams@desu.edu


Staff


Ms. Brandi Besecker
Senior Secretary, Chair's Office
EH 100
302.857.6720
bbesecker@desu.edu


Ms. Stacey Gede
Senior Secretary, Office of Clinical & Field Experiences
EH 110
302.857.6727
sgede@desu.edu


Ms. Danielle Hicks
Senior Secretary, Graduate Program Office
EH 112
302.857.7170
dshicks@desu.edu