slide image

Shashanna Simeon (l), recording secretary of the 2013-14 SGA, gives the installation oath to the 2014-2015 executive SGA officers, "The Family" -- (2nd from left to r) Edward Doxen, president; Kimani Robinson, vice president; Christen Thomas, treasurer; Donametria Stallings, recording secretary; and Kalea Phelps, corresponding secretary.

  2014 OSLA Awards & Appreciation Ceremony -- Photo Slideshow

The Office of Student Leadership and Activities held its 2014 Student Organization Awards and Appreciation Ceremony on April 30 in the MLK Jr. Student Center.

For images of ceremony and the award recipients, click on the below photo slideshow, followed by the list of awardees:

The following organizations and individuals were honored during the ceremony:

  • Outstanding Student Leader – Anna Kay Davis, Allied Health Organization
  • Student of the Year – Jonnie Lonon, Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Inc.
  • Student Volunteer of the Year – Quira Parker
  • Outstanding New Organization – iStep
  • Organization of the Year – DSU Theater Society
  • Fraternity of the Year Highest GPA – Iota Phi Theta Fraternity, Inc.
  • Sorority of the Year Highest GPA – Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc.
  • Outstanding Student Organization Program – HBCUs vs. PWIs Part 2, Kappa Alpha Psi, Fraternity, Inc.
  • Advisor of the Year – Tina George, Culture Exchange Program
  • Best Organization Portfolio – Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc.
  • Fraternity of the Year – Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Inc.
  • Sorority of the Year – Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc.

During the ceremony, the incoming 2014-2015 SGA executive officers – The Family – as well as other SGA student leaders all took their installation oaths.

The ceremony was emceed by the incoming 2014-2015 Mr. and Miss DSU – James L. Jones and Jamila Mustafa.