Board of Trustees

You are here


The business and affairs of the University are governed by the Board of Trustees.

The Board of Trustees has all the powers accorded it by Title 14, Chapter 65 of the Delaware Code. The Board consists of 15 members whose appointment or election is provided for in the Delaware Code, and the governor of the state and the president of the University, both of whom shall be members of the Board, ex officio, with the right to vote.

Eight of the trustees are appointed and commissioned by the governor for a term of six years. Two such trustees will reside in each county of the state. Seven of the trustees are elected by a majority of the whole Board as constituted. They are elected for a term of six years. One such trustee will reside in each county of the state.

Pursuant to Delaware Statutes 6505, the Board of Trustees has the superintendence of the University. The Board has the power to appoint and remove the faculty and other officers and agents of the University and its own body; to fill vacancies and to make bylaws as well for the government of the University; to appoint and assess the president’s performance; to determine and clarify the institution’s mission; to approve long-range plans; to access the educational program; to ensure financial solvency; to preserve institutional independence; to maintain the appropriate relationship between the University and the public it serves; to assess Board performance; and to protect and preserve the institution’s assets. Members serve without compensation.

In accordance with the Delaware Freedom of Information Act 29 Delaware Code Ch. 100 (“FOIA”), all meetings of the full Board of Trustees are open to the public and all formal action is taken in view of the public. Agendas are posted at least ten days before each regular meeting on the bulletin board outside the Hardcastle/Selby Boardroom on the 4th floor of the Administration Building and on the University eNews.

The current officers of the Board are: Mr. David G. Turner, chair; Mr. Barry M. Granger, vice chair; Dr. Teresa Hardee, treasurer; and Ms. Eleanor M. Wilson, secretary. The Board chair appoints the chairs and membership of all standing committees with such appointments remaining in effect at the pleasure of the Board chair. The committees meet as needed and report their recommendations and discussions to the full Board in public session. The standing committees of the Board are:

  • Audit Committee
  • Committee on Trustees
  • Development and Investment Committee
  • Educational Policy Committee
  • Executive Committee
  • Finance and Facilities Committee
  • Student Affairs Committee

Correspondence to the Board of Trustees may be sent to:

Board of Trustees
Office of the President
Delaware State University
1200 N. DuPont Highway
Dover, DE 19901

Questions related to the Board may be directed to Ms. Eleanor Wilson, board secretary, by email by writing to the address above or by calling 302.857.6023.


Mr. David G. Turner Chair
Mr. Barry M. Granger Vice Chair
Dr. Teresa Hardee Treasurer
Ms. Eleanor Wilson
Leroy A. Tice, Esq. New Castle County October 17, 2014
Dr. Claibourne D. Smith New Castle County February 18, 2016
Mr. Wesley E. Perkins Sussex County September 1, 2016
Ms. Lois M. Hobbs Sussex County January 11, 2017
Mr. David G. Turner New Castle County January 26, 2018
Dr. Devona E. Williams New Castle County January 25, 2018
The Honorable Michael N. Castle New Castle County January 31, 2019
Mr. Barry M. Granger New Castle County August 31, 2020
Mr. Robert E. Buccini New Castle  County August 31, 2016
Mr. James Stewart New Castle County August 31, 2016
Mr. José F. Echeverri, MBA Kent County August 31, 2018
Charles McDowell, Esq. New Castle County August 31, 2018
Mr. John J. Allen, Jr. Sussex County August 31, 2019
Mr. Mark A. Turner   August 31, 2019
The Honorable Jack A. Markell
Governor of the State of Delaware

Dr. Harry L. Williams
President of the University


 Dr. A. Richard Barros, Esq.
 Dr. John W. Land
 Dr. Cora Norwood Selby


Audit Committee
Committee on Trustees
Development and Investment Committee
Educational Policy Committee
Executive Committee
Finance and Facilities Committee
Student Affairs Committee

Meeting Schedule

NOTE:  All regular meetings of the Board of Trustees begin at 1:30 p.m. and are held in the Hardcastle/Selby Boardroom, on the 4th floor of the Administration Building.

Board Minutes