slide image

(L-r) Kemal Atkins, vice president of Student Affairs, and the top winners of this year's Speech Tournament: Thomas Jordan (1st place), Ashlee Bruner (2nd place), and Ruby LeGree (3rd place). Also with them on the far right, Dr. Sam Hoff, professor of political science and tournament coordinator.

  DSU Announces 3rd Annual Speech Tourney Winners

University officials recently presented prizes to the winners of the 3rd annual DSU Speech Tournament, which was held on Feb. 25 in Longwood Auditorium.

The each contestant had to give a three-minute speech on the topic of “The Legacy of a Leader.”

The winners, their prizes and hometowns are:

  • First place $600, Thomas Jordan, junior business management major, Harrisburg, Pa.,
  • Second Place, $300 – Ashlee Bruner, sophomore political science major, Harrisburg, Pa.
  • Third place, $150 – Ruby LeGree, senior mass communications major, Milford, Del.

    The Speech Tournament honorable mentions: (l-r) William Justice, Brandon Boyd, Dorian McDonald and Byron Dixon.

The following honorable mentions each won $50:

  • Bryon Dixon, junior mass communications, Baltimore
  • Brandon, Boyd, junior criminal justice, Wilmington
  • William Justice, freshman movement science major, Philadelphia
  • Dorian McDonald, senior mass communications major, Orange, N.J.

The Speech Tournament was sponsored by the Delaware Barrister Association, the DSU College of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences, the DSU Law Studies Program, and the DSU Office of Student Affairs.