slide image

These are just some of the people (identified below in the article) who contributed to this year's Adopt-a-Family effort at DSU.

  DSU Demonstrates Holiday Spirit with Adopt-a-Family Giving

A true DSU story of a collective holiday spirit of giving:
‘Twas the week before Christmas and all through the DSU Administration Building, people were watching as the Adopt-A-Family crew loaded up the truck to disburse gifts to local school children.   Folks were shouting, “I wanna be in that number with you next year—you can count me in!!!!” 

Beverly Brown (right) is in her first year as the coordinator of the annual DSU Adopt-a-Family effort, succeeding Kim Cloutier, who spearheaded the annual gift drive for many years.

The new Adopt-A-Family Volunteer Coordinator Beverley Brown, Human Resources,  enlisted the assistance from past coordinator for 19 years, Kim Cloutier, of Finance and Administration, and Dedine Couch from Student Accounts, to help ensure the needs and wishes from the children were met as much as possible.
There will be many smiling young  faces opening up gifts on Christmas Day which otherwise may not have happened if not for the kindness and generosity of many.  
Pictured in the above photo are some of the contributors: (l-r) Carrie Reynolds, Brandi Smith, Erin Abrams, Brenda Farmer, Henrietta Savage, Bryant Bell, Phyllis Edamatsu, Janice Hilliard, Charity Shockley, Vaughn Hopkins, Lea Prandeski, Jennifer Rickard, LaShawne Pryor, Tamika Farlow, Karen Purnell, Bradley Skelcher, Kathie Pringle, Ruth Tierney, Kimberley Sudler, Sandra Golson, Al LaVan, Jade Newcomb, Eleanor Wilson, Hope Jackson, Brandon Maddox, Stacey Colton, Jose Jean-Baptiste, Diaese Graves, Tracey Channel, Kim Cloutier, and Beverley Brown.  
There is a host of others not pictured but who were very instrumental in helping make this community outreach a success: DSU President Harry Williams, Provost Alton Thompson, Exec VP Amir Mohammadi, General Counsel Thomas Preston, VP Finance Teresa Hardee, AVP Irene Chapman-Hawkins, Natasha Adams, Cassandra Robinson, Georgeanne Hayward, Jadeen Notice, Michael Miller, Vernice Oney, Stephanie Acty, Denese Lindsey, Leida Sanchez and family, DSU Latino Association, IOTA Sorority, DSU Social Work Club, DSU American Chemical Society,  Michelle martin, Cheryl Lolley, Rachel Grayo, Desiree Barnes, Dedine Couch, Jessica Wilson, Linda Moody-Brown, Mary Flemming, Rozena Hawkins, LeFeisha Cannon, Olympia Friday, Kendrick Joyner, Rhonda Holt, Michellene Griffin, Nakiema Wilson, J. Lynn Iocono, AVP Erin Hill, Tiffany Trawick, Crystal Martin, Lakisha Thompson, Amber Gordon, Tonya G-Cardwell, Wanda Curry Brown, Shenequa Harris, Martha Hopkins and Maceon Battle.  
Also, special thanks goes out to Carlos Holmes for taking the group photo and to Renee Jones of the Office of Sponsored Programs for providing the vehicle for transport of the gifts to the schools.