slide image


Deborah Miller and Desiree Williams (center l-r), William P. Frank Scholarship recipients, are joined DSU President Harry L. Williams (far left) and Provost Alton Thompson (far right) at the Gridiron event where they received the awards.Krystina Muhammad, another DSU recipient, is not pictured, as she was competing that night in the MEAC Track & Field Championships.

  Three DSU Students Receive the William P. Frank Scholarship



Three Delaware State University mass communication students have been selected to receive the William P. Frank Scholarship, which is awarded to Delaware students for excellence in journalism and communications.

                     Krystina Muhammed

The DSU winners of the William P. Frank Scholarship are:
$10,000 scholarship
  • Deborah Miller, a junior broadcast journalism major from New Castle, Del. Her career goals include becoming a writer and publicist.
$5,000 scholarship
  • Krystina Muhammad, a junior print journalism major from Newark, Del. Her career goals include to become a reporter/writer and to create her own magazine.
  • Desiree Williams, a junior public relations major from Dover. Her career goals include to become a magazine writer.
The students were presented the scholarship at the May 7 First State Gridiron Dinner & Show, held at the Chase Center in Wilmington. All three will be seniors during the 2011-2012 school year.
William P. Frank (1905-1989) was one of Delaware’s best-known journalists of the 20th century. His career spanned 65 years, during which he became a prominent newspaper columnist and radio commentator. He was also a Delaware historian, a Judaic scholar, a Shakespearean actor and a social activist. Although he was listened to and read by powerful people, he made the concerns of ordinary people his concerns, according to the Gridiron event program.